America, How Do We Respond?

Dear America,

Wow. We have a lot of emotions today, can we agree on that? Yeah? Okay, great.

I don’t believe I have ever posted anything political, or even close to the topic before on a blog, but that changes today. I know I am not the only person doing this, but I don’t want that to hinder me sharing my thoughts with you. I want us to have a conversation, take a deep breath, and open our ears to our brothers and sisters.

Many people in America (and probably the world) are filled with a lot of fear right now. I think it is safe to say that for most of us, a level of uncertainty exists, and that would probably have been true with either candidate.

There are a few ways we can respond today:

  • hatred & harsh words about our new president
  • fear, because, hey it’s valid for many people in our country
  • Jesus is King, so it’s going to be okay, this was His plan
  • a riot
  • hiding from the world, because we are scared to share our thoughts and feelings

The list could go on. What I would like to say today is that I believe there is something we aren’t really talking about.

We need to stop trying to make the people scared right now stop being scared. 

Yes, Jesus is still sovereign and faithful. He is good all of the time, and He has a plan. But I refuse to speak for Him and say that He CHOSE Trump. WE chose Trump. Not all of us, but I guess most of us. God gave us free will, and that is the beauty/harsh reality of life. We reap the consequences of our decisions, and I truly believe that this is the case right now.

BUT.

There is still hope.

Hope in Jesus, yet a hope that is choosing to hold on while fear still exists. It’s okay not to be super optimistic right now. Why? Because many of our LGBTQ, refugee, immigrant, female, and colored brothers and sisters face the reality that a man that has spoke very harsh things over them is now the leader of our country. Despite who we voted for, can we just hold their hand and say that we are with them? Can we hug them, say “I love you,” and acknowledge their pain and fear? Can we choose each other over politics and opinions?

God didn’t choose Trump to make this country great, He chose US. We are the change. We are the leaders and influencers of our communities. He has called us to love, speak up for the oppressed, and care for those in any form of need. I am all for posting Bible verses and declaring God is in control, but I am not for this if the purpose behind it is to disregard my brothers and sisters feelings right now. The Bible is meant to encourage and uplift, not dismiss and ignore. Let’s look at some good verses to reference in the midst of this uncertainty:

“learn to do good; seek justice, correct oppression; bring justice to the fatherless, plead the widow’s cause.” Isaiah 1:17

“Owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law. For the commandments, ‘You shall not commit adultery, You shall not murder, You shall not steal, You shall not covet,’ and any other commandment, are summed up in this word: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ Love does no wrong to a neighbor; therefore love is the fulfilling of the law.” Romans 13:8-10

“Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13

Yeah, we can argue, and pick and choose Bible verses to throw at each other, but these words are TRUTH. These words were never meant to be used to attack each other, but act as reminders on how to love well.

Can I be honest? I am sick to my stomach. I don’t understand why Trump is the president. I’m confused, and truly nervous for what this could mean. I feel empathetic towards my friends and family who are in the minority groups that face oppression. I fully trust in God’s plan, but that doesn’t mean I should act like I know the purpose behind Him allowing this man into office. I don’t, and that’s okay.

I believe God is asking us to be the ones to choose to love and accept the people around us, even when a leader of influence refuses to make that choice himself.  We are not called to protect only ourselves, we are called to protect others and speak truth over them. We are called to love fiercely. We are called to stand for God’s people. He created ALL of us. He loves ALL of us. He wants ALL of our hearts.

We have seen it in the Bible; God allows someone into authority who does not represent love or protect His people. Why? Because in each of those situations, He called His people to rise up and choose to live in His promises. He called them to fight for justice, to seek freedom for His people, and to mourn with those in pain. He didn’t ask His people to just go with whatever was easier. If we just sit on the side lines, we are going to eventually realize that life isn’t “easier.” It will get hard. Why? Because watching people we have grown to love get deported, their rights revoked, objectified, mocked, and experience racism is going to tear us apart. I can’t just sit on the sidelines. I am going to be running to the people in need of love, who are broken, who are experiencing the lies of the Enemy.

Will you join me?

Because many of us are not okay right now, but if we can love each other well, we will be. It’s up to us, America.

I posted this verse yesterday,

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.”

Proverbs 19:21

YOU are His purpose. We are full of purpose. You, my friend, are the change. No matter who you voted for, I love you, I am for you, and I need you. I need you to choose to protect our brothers and sisters. I need you to rise up, and find the words to defend those in need.

I do believe God changes hearts, and through prayer and setting an example, this can happen.

If you see someone being told racial slurs or comments, the LGBTQ community experience any form of rejection, women being degraded, or a special needs person be talked down to: SPEAK UP. You have a voice. You have a heart. USE IT. We can’t afford for you not to.

 

Sincerely,

A Mourning Heart

Leave a Reply

